Saturday August 15, 2020


Event Info

In the new normal of online schooling during the pandemic, our school celebrated the 74th Independence Day virtually. The School informed the students and parents about virtual I-Day celebrations. Meticulous planning and preparation for many days with the guidance and encouragement being given by the Principal, Dr Mrs Lavanya Mithran. Student council members put in a lot of effort to arrange the virtual cultural programme. Interested participants from all the classes were directed to send pre-recorded versions of their performances to the Captain and the Cultural Secretary. Mr JaiSingh, from the music department coordinated with history department in finalising and arranging the pre-recorded programmes in the order to be shown virtually to the students. The flag hoisting ceremony was held at the school campus at 8.00 a.m.. Staff from the Administration department and few teachers took part in the ceremony. Principal Dr. Mrs Lavanya Mithran hoisted the national flag and it was followed by singing of the national anthem. The entire programme was recorded to be virtually shown to the students. The pre-recorded virtual Independence Day celebration was streamed to the entire school through Microsoft Teams. Commencing with flag hoisting and singing of the national anthem the entire cultural programme lasted for an hour and 15 minutes. The programme was compered by the school captain. The cultural programmes began with a prayer by Mrs Reena Cynthia from the history department. Students from junior, middle, senior and ISC sections took an active part by singing, instrument playing, dancing performances, speech, and power point presentation on the national movement. School Cultural secretary, Samriddha Basu gave a speech on the significance of the Independence Day. All teachers from the history department encouraged the students to participate. Vice-captain delivered the vote of thanks. Special thanks to our principal Dr. Mrs Lavanya Mithran, Vice-Principal Mrs Preethy Subhash, Mr Jaisingh, all teachers from the history department and the student Council.